top of page

Creamy Chicken and Mushroom Spaghetti

I used to love anything in a mushroom sauce; well until I went gluten free of course. No more soups from a can for me; therefore, there went the only way I knew how to make mushroom gravy/sauce.

Not being able to use the typical Campbell's mushroom soup in a can took away many old classics that I used to cook and grew up eating. Now also having to keep my family dairy free has welcomed a whole new "can of worms" in the kitchen for me. I now have to become more creative with my meals in order to keep them healthy and also make them so the whole family will enjoy.

All I can say is that this one was a WINNER!! I got a "Can I have more?" from my daughter, a "It was actually really good" from my son and a "It was delicious" from my hubby. 3 out of 3 means it makes the cut for the blog!

Hope you and your family love it as much as mine does!

Creamy Chicken and Mushroom Spaghetti

Ingredients

  • 4 chicken breasts

  • 4 cups chicken broth

  • 3 cups fresh mushrooms, sliced

  • 1/2 cup raw cashews, soaked overnight or boiled for 10 mins (drain & rinse)

  • 1 cup frozen peas

  • 2 Tbsp nutritional yeast

  • 1 tsp salt

  • 1/2 tsp pepper

  • 1/2 tsp onion powder

  • 2 garlic cloves

  • 2 Tbsp gluten Free flour

  • gluten free spaghetti

Putting it all together

  1. Place chicken breasts in crock pot and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Cover with chicken stock and cook on low for 4hrs.

  2. Remove cooked chicken from crockpot, shred and set aside.

  3. Place leftover stock, cashews, nutritional yeast, salt, pepper, onion powder and garlic into Vitamix/Blender and blend until smooth.

  4. Once blended, place in saucepan, stir in flour and bring to a boil.

  5. Reduce to a simmer, add in sliced mushrooms, peas and shredded chicken.

  6. While sauce is simmering, cook spaghetti according to package directions.

  7. Combine sauce and spaghetti. Enjoy!

Amy Bowers xo

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page